Pritzker Prize Architects: architecture design

Pritzker Prize Architects 2024, Riken Yamamoto architecture designer, Award winner news, Modern building design

Pritzker Prize Awards for Architecture

Architects Winners through the Years – Links to International Architectural Information

8 March 2024

Riken Yamamoto receives the 2024 Pritzker Architecture Prize

The Pritzker Architecture Prize announces Riken Yamamoto, of Yokohama, Japan, as the 2024 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, the award that is regarded internationally as architecture’s highest honor.

Riken Yamamoto, born 1945 Beijing, China is a Japanese architect.

The award that is regarded internationally as architecture’s highest honor.

Riken Yamamoto:
Riken Yamamoto architect
photo courtesy of Tom Welsh

2024 Pritzker Architecture Prize winner

Previously on e-architect:

7 March 2023

Sir David Alan Chipperfield CH Receives the 2023 Pritzker Architecture Prize

2023 Laureate of The Pritzker Architecture Prize News

March 7th, 2023 | Chicago, IL – Civic architect, urban planner and activist, Sir David Alan Chipperfield CH has been selected as the 2023 Laureate of The Pritzker Architecture Prize, the award that is regarded internationally as architecture’s highest honor.

Subtle yet powerful, subdued yet elegant, he is a prolific architect who is radical in his restraint, demonstrating his reverence for history and culture while honoring the preexisting built and natural environments, as he reimagines functionality and accessibility of new buildings, renovations and restorations through timeless modern design that confronts climate urgencies, transforms social relationships and reinvigorates cities.

David Chipperfield Architect

7 Mar 2018
Balkrishna Doshi Receives the 2018 Pritzker Architecture Prize
Balkrishna Doshi
Balkrishna Doshi photo courtesy of VSF
Professor Balkrishna Doshi, India, selected as the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2018 Laureate, announced the Hyatt Foundation, which sponsors the award, known internationally as architecture’s highest honor.

Mar 1, 2017

2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize

RCR Arquitectes – Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta have been selected as the 2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureates, announced Tom Pritzker, Chairman of Hyatt Foundation, which sponsors the award that is known internationally as architecture’s highest honor.

Pritzker Architecture Prize 2017 Winner

Pritzker Architecture Prize 2017 Laureates

Pritzker Prize Winner in 2016 – Alejandro Aravena, Chile, 13 Jan 2016

Architect Alejandro Aravena

The 48-year-old Alejandro Aravena is an architect based in Santiago, Chile. He becomes the 41st laureate of the Pritzker Prize, the first Pritzker Laureate from Chile, and the fourth from Latin America, after Luis Barragán (1980), Oscar Niemeyer (1988), and Paulo Mendes da Rocha (2006).

Pritzker Prize Architect winners


Balkrishna Doshi 2018 – see RIBA 2022 Gold Medal for Architecture
RCR Arquitectes 2017
Alejandro Aravena 2016
Frei Otto 2015
Shigeru Ban 2014
Toyo Ito 2013
Wang Shu 2012
Eduardo Elísio Machado Souto de Moura 2011
SANAA 2010

Peter Zumthor 2009
Jean Nouvel 2008
Richard Rogers 2007
Paulo Mendes da Rocha 2006
Thom Mayne founder of Morphosis Architects, Pritzker Prize Winner in 2005
Zaha Hadid 2004
Jørn Utzon 2003
Glen Murcutt 2002
Jacques Herzog & Pierre de Meuron Pritzker Prize Winners 2001
Rem Koolhaas 2000

Norman Foster 1999 of Foster + Partners
Renzo Piano 1998
Sverre Fehn 1997
Rafael Moneo 1996
Tadao Ando 1995
Christian de Portzamparc 1994
Fumihiko Maki 1993
Alvaro Siza 1992
Robert Venturi 1991
Aldo Rossi 1990

Frank Gehry 1989
Gordon Bunschaft + Oscar Niemeyer 1988
Kenzo Tange 1987
Gottfried Böhm 1986
Hans Hollein 1985
Richard Meier 1984
Ieoh Ming Pei 1983
Kevin Roche (Roche Dinkeloo Architects) 1982
James Stirling 1981
Luis Barragan 1980

Philip Johnson 1979

27 Feb + 31 May 2012

2012 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Wang Shu
Wang Shu architect
photo from ceremony
Thomas J. Pritzker, chairman of The Hyatt Foundation presented the 2012 Pritzker Architecture Prize to Wang Shu, the first architect from the People’s Republic of China to receive what is considered the most prestigious architecture award at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing. Renowned as the “the Nobel of architecture” the official ceremony was hosted for the first time in China since the prize was founded in 1979.

Wang Shu, a 48 year old architect whose architectural practice is based in Hangzhou, The People’s Republic of China, will be the recipient of the 2012 Pritzker Architecture Prize.

Jury Chair Lord Palumbo, stated, “Wang Shu’s oeuvre, seen in depth by the jurors during a visit to China, left no doubt that we were witnessing the work of a master; and a unanimous decision to award him the Pritzker Prize for 2012 is one that we feel places him at the same high level of distinction as the other Chinese architect to receive the award, I M Pei.”

Wang Shu – 2012 Pritzker Architecture Prize winner

In announcing the jury’s choice, Pritzker elaborated, “The fact that an architect from China has been selected by the jury, represents a significant step in acknowledging the role that China will play in the development of architectural ideals. In addition, over the coming decades China’s success at urbanization will be important to China and to the world. This urbanization, like urbanization around the world, needs to be in harmony with local needs and culture. China’s unprecedented opportunities for urban planning and design will want to be in harmony with both its long and unique traditions of the past and with its future needs for sustainable development.”

29 Mar 2011

2011 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Eduardo Souto de Moura is the 2011 recipient of the prestigious Pritzker Prize.

Pritzker Prize winner for 2011:
Pritzker Prize winner 2011
photograph : Augusto Brázio

Eduardo Souto de Moura is the second Portuguese architect to win the Pritzker – architect Álvaro Siza won the award in 1992.

Eduardo Souto de Moura – 2011 Pritzker Architecture Prize winner

Pritzker Prize 2010 : Information

Pritzker Prize 2010 Winner

SANAA, architects : Win 2010 Pritzker Prize

Winner – SANAA : Kazuyo Sejima (right) and Ryue Nishizawa (left)
Pritzker Prize winners for 2010
picture © 2008 Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa / SANAA ; photograph © Takashi Okamoto

The Pritzker Prize will be awarded to SANAA on 17 May 2010 by the Hyatt Foundation in Chicago. The winners will share the $100,000 prize, given annually since 1979 for “significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture.” Architects Sejima and Nishizawa will be presented with this prestigious architecture award in a ceremony on Ellis Island in New York Harbour, USA.

Rolex Learning Center
image © EPFL

Sejima, born in 1956, and Nishizawa, born in 1966, are principals of the Tokyo-based architecture firm SANAA.

Naturally as soon as the Pritzker Prize Winner is announced for next year we will post it online here right away, thanks for your visit to

Pritzker Prize : further information re past winners

Location: Ellis Island, NY, USA

Pritzker Architecture Prize

Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate 2011 : Citation from the Jury + The Jury + Eduardo Souto de Moura information

Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate 2010 : Citation from the Jury + The Jury

Pritzker Prize Winner 2010 : SANAA architects

Mies van der Rohe Awards

Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

World Architecture Festival Awards

AR Awards for Emerging Architecture

Comments / photos for the Pritzker Prize Architects page welcome