Architecture Awards, Shortlists, Winners, Architectural Prizes, Property Design, Construction

Building Awards : Architectural Prizes

International Architecture + Property

post updated 18 October 2021

Architecture Awards

Architectural Awards

We’ve selected what we feel are the key examples of Architecture Prizes in the world. We include building prizes for completed buildings and new building designs.

e-architect have 2 pages of Building Awards + prizes selections with links to hundreds of individual project pages.

Architecture Awards : main page with current news

Major Building Award

Mies van der Rohe Award
Neues Museum - winner of major Building Awards in 2009 & 2010
photograph : Ute Zscharnt
Neues Museum
David Chipperfield Architects has been awarded the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2011 for the Neues Museum on Museum Island in Berlin. The Mies van der Rohe Award is granted every two years by the European Union and organised by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona, to acknowledge and reward quality architectural production in Europe.

Recent Building Awards

Islamic Architecture Award
Zliten campus - winner of Building Awards in 2009
image from architects
Cityscape Awards, Dubai : Islamic Architecture Award
RMJM accepted the Islamic Architecture Award for their work on the Zliten Campus at Asmariya University for Islamic Sciences in Libya. The Zliten campus is a new branch of Al Asmariya University, 120km southeast of Tripoli. RMJM’s architects designed a campus masterplan for the development of the 82-hectare site. Core academic functions are organised in four quadrants within a perimeter ‘habitable wall’ that contains faculty offices and academic support functions.

MIPIM Architectural Review Future Project Awards
Girrasol Building
image from architects
MIPIM Architectural Review Future Project Awards
Brazil’s Girrasol Building named Overall Winner of the MIPIM AR Future Project Awards.
Isay Weinfeld’s São Paolo project also wins Residential gong in prestigious competition. A distinctive residential block formed by unevenly cascading levels situated on a sloping topography in São Paulo, has been named the Overall Winner in the 10th annual MIPIM Architectural Review Future Project Awards.

American Institute of Architects Gold Medal
Steven Holl architect
photograph © Mark Heitoff
American Institute of Architects Gold Medal

Architecture Awards


American Architecture Awards

American Architecture Award Winners

AR Awards for Emerging Architecture

Architect of the Year Awards


BCO Awards

BD Young Architect of the Year Award



CAE Educational Facility Design Awards

Carbuncle Awards

CF Hansen Medal

Civic Trust Awards


Dynamic Place Awards


European Hotel Design Awards

Europe 40 Under 40


German British Forum Award

Grand Designs Awards

Gulbenkian Prize


Landscape Architects of the Year

LEAF Awards

Lighting Awards

Lighting Design Awards


Mies van der Rohe Awards


Prime Minister’s Better Public Building Award

Pritzker Prize architects


RIAS Best Building Awards

RIBA Awards

RIBA Gold Medal Award

RICS Awards

Roses Design Awards


Saltire Awards

Scottish Design Awards

Scottish Eco Prize

Shrinkage Awards

Spotlight Rice Design Alliance Prize

Steedman Fellowship

Stirling Prize

Student Health Design Award

Sustainability Awards


ThyssenKrupp Elevator Award


What House? Awards

Wood Awards

World Architecture Festival Awards

Architecture Awards welcome

Building Awards Archive

Stirling Prize Awards
fuglsang kunstmuseum
photo © Helene Binet

Alvar Aalto Medal
photo from MFA

Mies van der Rohe Awards 2009
Norwegian Opera - Building Awards winner in 2009
picture : Jens Passoth

RIAI Architecture Awards
Precast House Ireland
photo : Verena Hilgenfeld

AIA New York Design Awards

International Trade Award

International Architecture Awards

Comments for the Architecture Awards & Property Prizes page welcome