Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate Winner in 2016, Paulo Mendes da Rocha Architect News

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2016 Winner

Architecture: Paulo Mendes da Rocha: Japan Art Association Award Winner

13 Sep 2016

Architect Paulo Mendes da Rocha wins Praemium Imperiale

Cindy Sherman, Martin Scorsese And Annette Messager Among Winners Of 2016 Praemium Imperiale Awards

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2016 News

The Japan Art Association has today announced the recipients of the 2016 Praemium Imperiale Awards:

Architecture: Paulo Mendes da Rocha
Paulo Mendes da Rocha architect

Painting: Cindy Sherman
Cindy Sherman

Sculpture: Annette Messager
Annette Messager

Music: Gidon Kremer
Gidon Kremer

Theatre/Film: Martin Scorsese
Martin Scorsese

photos courtesy of Sankei Shimbun, Japan Art Association

13th September 2016 – Since 1989, the Praemium Imperiale Awards have been given annually in the categories of Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Music and Theatre/Film to cover fields of achievement not represented by the Nobel Prizes. The Laureates are chosen from a list submitted by six International Advisors and submitted to the Japan Arts Association.

Cais das Artes Project, Brazil, design by Paulo Mendes da Rocha + Metro Arquitetos:
Cais das Artes Project, Brazil by Paulo Mendes da Rocha
picture from architect

Lord Patten, the International Advisor in the UK remarked: “The Japan Art Association should be congratulated for their vision and determination to celebrate artistic excellence – as exemplified by this year’s Laureates. No other award for the arts cover such a wide range of disciplines and no other has such an illustrious list of Laureates”.

Building by Paulo Mendes da Rocha – Patriarch Square, Portico, São Paulo, 2002:
Building by Paulo Mendes da Rocha

Violinist Gidon Kremer is the first Latvian artist to win the Praemium Imperiale Award for Music and, like in previous years, the variety of nationalities represented by this years’ Laureates highlights the International Advisors’ global outlook in their selection of candidates.

The awards will be given out by His Imperial Highness Prince Hitachi, Honorary Patron of the Japan Art Association and younger brother of the current Emperor of Japan, in a ceremony in Japan this October. Each Laureate receives an honorarium of 15 million Yen (c. £100,000).

Paulo Mendes da Rocha architecture – Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo, 1993:
Paulo Mendes da Rocha architecture

In addition to the Praemium Imperiale Awards, there also is a yearly Grant for Young Artists. This year’s recipient organisation for this award is the Five Arts Centre in Malaysia. Selected by International Advisor Yasuhiro Nakasone, the former Prime Minister of Japan, the Five Arts Centre is a collective of artists and producers using different performing arts to inspire communities and support young artists.

Paulo Mendes da Rocha building – Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo, 1993:
Paulo Mendes da Rocha building

12 Sep 2023

Praemium Imperiale 2023

Architect Francis Kéré wins the 2023 Praemium Imperiale Awards Architecture Laureate, announced by The Japan Art Association and Lord Patten of Barnes, Advisor in UK:

2023 Praemium Imperiale Awards

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2015

26 Oct 2015

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2015

Dominique Perrault wins Praemium Imperiale

Dominique Perrault is an architect who steeps himself in the history, environment, and special local nature of the construction site. His innovative buildings are designed to blend into the environment without spoiling those features.

The Blade Tower Seoul by architect Dominique Perrault:
The Blade Tower Seoul
image © DPA / Adagp
Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate – past winners


Location: Tokyo, Japan

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2013

David Chipperfield wins Praemium Imperiale
Architectural Laureate of the Praemium Imperiale 2013
David Chipperfield
photo © Nick Knight
David Chipperfield is announced as the Architectural Laureate for the 2013 edition of the Japan Art Association’s Praemium Imperiale. The award will be presented by HIH Prince Hitachi, brother of Emperor Akihito, at a ceremony in Tokyo on 16 October 2013.
David Chipperfield Architect

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2012

Henning Larsen wins Praemium Imperiale
Henning Larsen Architect
photo : Agnete Schlichtkrull

The Praemium Imperiale is a global arts prize awarded annually by the Japan Art Association. Now in its 24th year, since its inauguration in 1989 it has become a mark of the highest international distinction for achievement in the arts. The awards honour individuals from all over the world who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of the arts and are made in five categories – Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Music and Theatre/film.

Henning Larsen
Moesgård Museum Building
image from architects

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate Past Winners

Ricardo Legorreta wins Praemium Imperiale in 2011
Ricardo Legorreta
photograph of Ricardo Legorreta from B&Q
Praemium Imperiale 2011

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2011 winner : architect Ricardo Legorreta

Toyo Ito wins Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate for 2010
Serpentine Pavilion Toyo Ito
photograph © 2007 Deborah Bullen
Praemium Imperiale 2010

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2010 winner : architect Toyo Ito

Zaha Hadid wins Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate for 2009
Zaha Hadid
picture from architects
Praemium Imperiale 2009

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2009 winner : architect Zaha Hadid

Praemium Imperiale – Background Information

Praemium Imperiale

The Praemium Imperiale was established in 1988 to mark the centennial of the Japan Art Association and to honour the wish of the late Prince Takamatsu, its Honorary Patron for 58 years, “to contribute to enhancing and promoting the cultures and arts of the world”. As well as honouring five international artists each year, it also gives a grant to a Young Artists group, who nurture young talent.

Japan Art Association

The Japan Art Association is the oldest cultural foundation in Japan, established in 1887. It runs the Ueno Royal Museum in Tokyo, and organizes and holds art exhibitions. Prince Hitachi, younger brother of the Emperor, has been its Honorary Patron since 1987. The Association has presented five Praemium Imperiale Awards every year since 1989.

Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

Pritzker Prize architects

World Architecture Festival Awards

RIBA Royal Gold Medal

Dominique Perrault Architect

Comments / photos for the Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2016 page welcome