2010 Buber-Rosenzweig Medal Winner, Daniel Libeskind, Photo, News, Germany, Image

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal Germany

International Award for Architect Daniel Libeskind – 2010 Winner

9 Mar 2010

Daniel Libeskind Awarded 2010 Buber-rosenzweig Medal

Libeskind Is First-ever Architect To Receive Famed Award

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal

Studio Daniel Libeskind is pleased to announce that Daniel Libeskind has been chosen as the 2010 recipient of the Buber-Rosenzweig Medal, which was awarded on Sunday, March 7, 2010 in Augsburg, Germany.

Mr. Libeskind is the first architect to ever receive this honor which is bestowed by the DKR (German Coordinating Council of Societies for Christian-Jewish Cooperation).

Past recipients have included musicians Yehudi Menuhin (1989) and Daniel Barenboim (2004), Leah Rabin (1998), Joschka Fischer (2003), Nobel Prize winning author Isaac Bashevis Singer and former Presidents of Germany Joannes Rau (2000) and Richard von Weizsäcker (1995).

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal winner in 2010 – Architect Daniel Libeskind

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal winner - Daniel Libeskind
photo © Michael Klinkhamer Photography

The Buber-Rosenzweig Medal is an annual prize awarded uninterruptedly since 1968 by the DKR (German Coordinating Council of Societies for Christian-Jewish Cooperation) to individuals, initiatives, or institutions, which have actively contributed to Christian-Jewish understanding.

Forty-four different societies belong to the DKR. The name of the prize honors the memory of the Austrian-Jewish philosopher, translator, and educator Martin Buber (1878-1965) and German-Jewish theologian Franz Rosenzweig (1886-1929).

Buber-Rosenzweig Medal information from Studio Daniel Libeskind

Daniel Libeskind Architect - 2010 Buber-Rosenzweig Medal Winner
Daniel – portrait of the architect photograph from SDL 091007

Location: Augsburg, Germany

Architectural Design

Contemporary Architecture

Recent Building completed by Studio Daniel Libeskind:

Grand Canal Square, Dublin, Ireland
Grand Canal Square Theatre Dublin
photo © Ros Kavanagh
Grand Canal Square Theatre, Ireland

American Architecture Awards

Pritzker Prize architects

Stirling Prize
Stirling Prize winner 2009
photo : Speirs and Major Associates / James Newton

RIBA Gold Medal Award
Museum of Islamic Art Doha
photo : Courtesy of the Museum of Islamic Art

WAF Awards

Pritzker Prize 2009 Winner : Peter Zumthor

Modern Architects

Iconic Buildings

Architecture Studios

Comments / photos for the Buber-Rosenzweig Medal Architecture page welcome

Website: Buber-Rosenzweig-Medaille annual prize