Stirling Prize, Winner, Architecture, Images, Shortlist, Betting Odds, News, Photos

RIBA Stirling Prize 2009

2009 Shortlisted Buildings + Architects : UK Architecture Awards

13 Oct 2009

RIBA Stirling Prize 2009 Buildings

The winner is Maggie’s Centre London

Maggie's London
photo © Maggie’s Centres

Stirling Prize 2009 Shortlist

Fuglsang Kunstmuseum
Architect: Tony Fretton Architects
Practice last shortlisted : never

Bodegas Protos
Rogers Stirk Harbour Partners
Practice last shortlisted : 2006

Liverpool One Masterplan
Architect: BDP
Practice last shortlisted : 2002

5 Aldermanbury Square
Architect: Eric Parry Architects
Practice last shortlisted : 2003

Kentish Town Centre
Architect: Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Practice last shortlisted : 2008

Maggie’s Centre – Winner
Architect: Rogers Stirk Harbour Partners
Practice last shortlisted : 2006

Stirling Prize 2009 – Shortlisted Buildings + Architects Opinion

Favourites Tony Fretton Architects have never been shortlisted for this award before but are well known for considered, subtle projects. Their British Embassy in Warsaw has just completed and is a step up in scale from earlier projects, such as the Lisson Gallery in London. Tony Fretton’s key projects in my view are his powerful Chelsea house and restrained Faith house in Dorset.

Despite its humble scale the London Maggie’s Centre brings great comfort and help to those suffering from cancer. Whilst I firmly believe the state should be providing this quality of health provision and building I fully support Maggie’s Centres for not only filling the void with sensitive support but for commissioning a series of really good architects. This building has obvious quality – simple articulated forms, red-coloured rendered walls providing warmth and solidity. it is one of an increasingly long list of Maggies Centres by celebrated architects. The Client is surely due a special award.

Previous Stirling Prize controversies have included whether a bridge should win an ‘Architecture Prize’ (the Gateshead Bridge went on to win in 2002) and in 2009 there have been rumblings about a ‘shopping centre’ being shortlisted. The Liverpool ONE masterplan is a welcome addition in that it is not a stand-alone building, nor private – it is used by thousands of people every hour and my feedback tells me it is well-liked by the people of Liverpool. The project is instrumental in making the city centre work and is a major and successful intervention that eschews look-at-me styling.

The Times describes the 2009 shortlist as “more subdued than in recent years”. Tony Chapman, RIBA head of awards, said: “It is possibly quieter than in some years [but] we would call this a pretty vintage year.”

BD’s Ellis Woodman boldly states “Kentish Town Health Centre and the Fuglsang Kunstmuseum are surely the only real contenders”, describing Bodegas Protos as “just a big roof” and maintaining some of the Liverpool One buildings are “grisly”.

Adrian Welch, Editor / architect

Comments on the selection welcome

The Shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize 2009 of six schemes listed below were chosen from a midlist of 22 RIBA Award winners.

The Stirling Prize winner was announced at the RIBA Stirling Prize 2009 Dinner on 17 Oct 2009 at Old Billingsgate, London.

Betting Odds

Betting odds, Oct 2009 – William Hill

Fuglsang Kunstmuseum 6-4 clear favourite
Maggie’s Centre 9-2
Bodegas Protos 9-2
Liverpoool One Masterplan 5-1
5 Aldermanbury Square 5-1
Kentish Town Health Centre 6-1

Betting odds, Jul 2009 – William Hill

Fuglsang Kunstmuseum 3-1 favourite
Maggie’s Centre 4-1
Bodegas Protos 4-1
Liverpoool One Masterplan 9-2
5 Aldermanbury Square 9-2
Kentish Town Health Centre 5-1


Stirling Prize Jury – current
John Tuomey : O’Donnell and Tuomey (chair)
Benedetta Tagliabue : EMBT
Thomas Heatherwick : Designer
Sir John Sorrell : Chair of CABE

Inclusion on the shortlist of the Liverpool One Masterplan has meant architects Sam Jacob and Edward Jones must be excluded.

The jury will now include architect Benedetta Tagliabue of EMBT and John Tuomey of O’Donnell and Tuomey Architects.

Stirling Prize Jury – pre-shortlist
Edward Jones : Dixon Jones
Sam Jacob : FAT
Thomas Heatherwick : Designer
Sir John Sorrell : Chair of CABE

RIBA Stirling Prize Shortlist drawn from the 103 RIBA Awards 2009 winners

The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year.

Stirling Prize Venue + Date

Old Billingsgate, London
Saturday 17 Oct 2009
Broadcast live on Channel 4 TV, UK from 8 to 9pm – ‘Building of the Year’
Kevin McCloud announces winner around 9pm

Location: UK

Stirling Prize 2008 : shortlisted winners + revised judges

Stirling Prize Winner 2008 : Accordia, Cambridge, England
Stirling Prize Winner
photo : Adrian Welch

RIBA Awards

RIBA Stirling Prize – 2007 : images + links

Architecture Awards

Architecture Awards featured

RIBA Lubetkin Prize

Roses Design Awards
Stirling Prize

Pritzker Prize architects – Architect Winners

RIBA Awards

Office Buildings

Stirling Prize Awards background : shortlist / buildings / architects / odds / favourite

Comments re Stirling Prize 2009 Shortlist / Winner welcome