Grand Designs House of the Year 2015, Winning Buildings, Shortlist, UK, Architecture, Links, Projects

Grand Designs House of the Year

Royal Institute of British Architects Prize Winners – Shortlisted UK Homes + Architects

25 Nov 2015

Grand Designs: House of the Year Winner

Skene Catling de la Pena win Grand Designs: House of the Year 2015

Flint House, Waddesdon, Buckinghamshire, England

Flint House, Waddesdon

We revealed the shortlisted houses every week, with the winner announced today, 25 November. The houses were chosen from the RIBA House of the Year longlist.


Flint House


This is a rare example of a poetic narrative whose realisation remains true to the original concept.

Flint House, Waddesdon

The site is a seam of flint geology surrounded by ploughed fields with the flints sitting on the surface. The project is conceived as two wedges of that geology thrusting up through the flat landscape. Their bases are knapped flint and slowly change in construction and texture until they become chalk walling, dissolving into the sky.

Flint House, Waddesdon

The house forms accommodation for family members, guests and artists. Internally the spaces carefully frame the landscape and provide a rich sequence of experiences, including a small rivulet of water that that cuts a grotto through a corner of the main house. Magic.

Photographs: James Morris

Flint House, Waddesdon, Amersham
Design: Skene Catling de la Pena
Flint House, Waddesdon
photograph : James Morris
Flint House

Website: Flint House, Waddesdon

18 + 17 Nov 2015

Grand Designs: House of the Year

Grand Designs: House of the Year 2015

Every year the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) holds a competition to find the best new home in Britain and this time, Grand Designs is along for the ride. Presented by Kevin McCloud, this four-part series explores some of Britain’s most contemporary and cutting edge homes, all of them in the running for the prestigious Riba House of the Year Award 2015.

Cefn Castell
photograph : Andrew Walll

In the first episode, Kevin McCloud visits five homes built for country living. Enormously varied in size and style, they are: a house disguised as a giant shard of flint; a beautifully crafted timber farmhouse in Somerset; a low budget home made of shipping containers in Northern Ireland (which featured on Grand Designs last year); an elegant eco house in Cambridgeshire, designed for a passionate birdwatcher; and a stunning modern glass villa with a spectacular jagged roof designed to look like mountain peaks. Find out which of the five make it through to the final shortlist – and discover what it takes to be crowned Riba: House of the Year 2015.

Website: Grand Designs House of the Year Vote

Cefn Castell
Cefn Castell
photograph : Andrew Wall
Cefn Castell

Dundon Passivhaus
Dundon Passivhaus
photograph : Graham Bizley
Dundon Passivhaus

Fitzroy Park House

House on Church Road

Courtyard House

Flint House

Folly Farm

Grillagh Water House

House at Maghera

Kew House

Levring House

The Mill, Scottish Borders

Pobble House


Sussex House

Vaulted House, London

Victoria Road


House in Formby

Cliff House

Levring House
photo © Dennis Gilbert
RIBA House of the Year Award Shortlist

Website: Grand Designs House of the Year

11 Nov 2015

RIBA Awards 2016

2016 RIBA Awards Programme

Along with the established Regional and National Awards and the Stirling Prize, this year the institute will launch the inaugural RIBA International Prize and RIBA Awards for International Excellence. These will be open to any architect who has designed a building outside the UK. Only RIBA members and RIBA International Fellows will be able to enter a building in the UK.

RIBA awards and prizes are the most rigorously judged awards for architectural excellence. No award or prize is given unless the candidate project has been visited by at least one jury.

RIBA Stirling Prize 2015

RIBA House of the Year 2015
Channel 4 Grand Designs RIBA House of the Year, awarded to the best new house designed by an architect in the UK. The shortlist for the RIBA House of the Year award will be announced during the new Channel 4 series ‘Grand Designs: RIBA House of the Year’.

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2015
The Stephen Lawrence Prize is funded by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, and was set up in memory of the teenager who was setting out on the road to becoming an architect when he was murdered in 1993. The prize, which rewards the best examples of projects that have a construction budget of less tha…

RIBA Client of the Year Award 2015
The RIBA Client of the Year Award, honours the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture.

RIBA Stirling Prize
The RIBA Stirling Prize is the UK’s most prestigious architecture prize. Every year it is presented to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to the evolution of architecture in the past year.

RIBA National Award Winners 2015
View the winners of the RIBA National Awards 2015 here. The RIBA National Awards are given to buildings across the UK recognised as significant contributions to architecture.

Cefn Castell
photograph : Andrew Walll

RIBA Awards 2016


RIBA Awards Winners

Stirling Prize

RIBA International Awards : Winners
School of the Arts Singapore
photo : Patrick Bingham-Hall

RIBA Special Awards

RIBA Royal Gold Medal

RIAS Award for Architecture – Best Building in Scotland

Grand Designs Awards

Comments / photos for the RIBA Awards 2016 page welcome

RIBA Awards – page